The Team

The interdisciplinary team behind the genetic edition brings together expertise in DMU's Centre for Adaptations, its Centre for Textual Studies, its Cinema and Television History Institute and its Special Collections department.


PI, Professor Justin Smith
Professor of Cinema and Television History (DMU) and expert in using archival and interview sources to research film and television production histories.

Co-I, Professor Gabriel Egan
Professor in Shakespeare Studies (DMU) and TEI digital humanities expert.

Co-I, Dr. Anna Blackwell
Assistant Professor in Drama (University of Nottingham), partner in the original Andrew Davies digitisation project and adaptations specialist.

Research Fellow Dr. Lucy Hobbs
(DMU), responsible for the analysis and coding of the core texts, researching and producing multi-media assets and assembling the genetic edition.

Archivist Dr. Natalie Hayton
in DMU's Special Collections, curator of the Andrew Davies Archive and advisor in metadata production and archival practice.

Project Consultant Dr. Beverley Rilett
Associate Research Professor (Auburn University, Alabama), Digital Humanities specialist, Vice President of the George Eliot Fellowship and Director of the George Eliot Archive, Scholars and Review Online. She is advising us on all things Eliot and digital humanities.


The project team was supported by a steering group of advisory experts:

Kamilla Elliott Professor of Literature and Media at Lancaster University (an Adaptations and Victorian literature specialist)

Professor Deborah Cartmell Director of the Centre for Adaptations and Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) at DMU

Professor Ray Siemens University of Victoria, Canada and Honorary Fellow at DMU (and expert in Digital Humanities)

John Wyver Professor of the Arts on Screen at University of Westminster (Writer and Media Producer)

Ruth Livesey Professor of 19th Century Literature and Ideas, Royal Holloway (George Eliot expert and PI on AHRC project 'Finding Middlemarch in Coventry 2021')

Dr. Alexander Lock FRHistS, Curator of Modern Archives & Manuscripts, British Library.

John Burton Chair of the George Eliot Fellowship.


The project team would like to acknowledge and thank:

Katharine Short (Manager, Special Collections, DMU)

Dr. Nicola Boyle (OCR correction and proofing)

Natalia Wadowska (Web design, asset and metadata production)

Lesley Smith (Voice actor)

Tim Hall (Sound engineering and editing)

Anne Marie Galt (Administrative support)

Katie Joyce (DMU Graduate Champion, metadata production)

Jina Ali (Accessibility advisor)

Dr. Paul Brown (Software developer)